Gettin’ Fresh

I picked fresh berries for the first time yesterday and just about lost my shit. Black raspberries? From a bush? Like right off the bush?

As you can tell, I’m a bit of a city kid at heart, despite growing up in suburbia. However, I was visiting my grandparents’ house with my family and boyfriend, and when my grandma told us to pick the berries right from the bush and eat them, I got excited. Maybe a bit too excited, but hey, they were fresh berries right off the bush!

But wait, it gets better. Apparently these black raspberries grow rampant in the woods behind my boyfriend’s neighborhood. OH. MY. GOD. So, as long as the season is right and the berries are growing, he and I are going to be making some fabulous nut-free and soy-free black raspberry pie in the very first post in a series of nut-free, soy-free baking from the both of us.

But wait! There’s more! (There always is). Because this blog is about making adaptable foods, I will also be making a simple gluten-free black raspberry dessert that can be served alongside the pie to please those who can’t eat wheat.

Stay tuned!

20130701-154840.jpg

Leave a Reply

