Slawvocado (Tasty Avocado Slaw)

I’ve always been partial to the Fourth of July – it’s a day situated between mine and my mother’s birthdays, (mine’s the 3rd, my mother’s is the 5th), so it always feels like a big celebration. And truth be told, it is. While many years we end up at a cookout at a neighbor’s or family member’s house, this year we decided to host our own.

                       IMG_1267IMG_1310

The great thing about a cookout is that while you have hot dogs and veggie burgers cooking on the grill, you can whip up a salad of sorts to pair with your meatier main dish. Honestly, I oftentimes end up liking the salads so much better than my veggie burger!

IMG_1286

A Fourth of July apple pie!

 For this year’s Fourth of July festivities, in addition to making an apple pie, I created an Avocado Slaw, or what my family has taken to calling it Slawvocado. And while my boyfriend insists on calling it Grinch food, I promise it doesn’t taste anything close to that Christmas-stealing meanie.

Grinch greens (not!)

Grinch greens (not!)

This recipe was originally printed in the I Love Trader Joe’s Vegetarian Cookbook. It caught my eye mainly because it features my favorite food, the avocado, in a dressing. Better yet, it has no gluten, dairy, egg, nuts, soy or fish of any sorts, so it’s completely allergen free!

I tweaked it a little, of course, to fit my own taste palate and what I had on hand, and I ended up with one of my new favorite dishes. It’s full of healthy fat and veggies, and the best part is that it takes less than a half an hour to make. It’s a recipe I know I’ll be able to take back to school and make over and over.

Absolutely delicious!

Absolutely delicious!

Slawvocado (Tasty Avocado Slaw)

Ingredients

1 Tablespoon olive oil

1 teaspoon garlic powder (add more to fit your taste palate)

2 avocados

1/4 cup chopped parsley

juice of 1 small lime (microwave for 10 seconds to get the juices flowing)

sprinkle of salt

1/3 cup of water (add more for thinner dressing)

1 bag slaw (I used Trader Joe’s Organic Broccoli Slaw)

8 grape tomatoes, chopped

1/2 jalapeño pepper, diced with seeds removed

1. In the bowl of a food processor, combine olive oil, garlic powder and avocados and pulse until smooth.

2. Add the parsley, lime juice and salt and again, pulse until mixed.

3. Add enough water to make the avocado sauce the consistency of a creamy dressing.

4. In a separate large bowl, toss the dressing with the broccoli slaw, tomatoes and jalapeño pepper. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

