Avocado Hummus

We’ve talked about the avocado before when we made Creamy Avocado Pasta. Remember when I wept at how creamy it was? Yeah, today I’m gonna do it again. I absolutely LOVE avocado because it’s one of the few plant-based fats that I can eat. Its creamy texture is unfounded in most other vegetables, and I think that’s pretty special.

IMG_2158

In this recipe, the avocado melds well with cannelloni beans to create a hummus-guacamole fusion that’s chickpea-free! How cool is that? Having a hummus sort of spread like this was important to me, because I can’t eat chickpeas and totally feel like I’m missing out. Now that hummus is being recalled….I’m not so sure! 😉 At any rate, this recipe is full of both protein and healthy fats from the avocado and olive oil. Not to mention, it has a little kick from the hot sauce and lime involved.

IMG_2160

You can dip chips or crackers into the avocado hummus – I like using the Food Should Taste Good olive chips, but their jalapeño flavor would work well too. You can also use it as the base for a sandwich or wrap. I made a wrap with the hummus, lettuce, a vinaigrette slaw, feta cheese and pepperocinis. YUM.

Let’s get cooking!

Avocado Hummus
Free of the top 8 allergens

IMG_2159

Ingredients:
1 avocado
1 can cannelloni beans
1/2 lime
1 tsp. hot sauce (I used tabasco)
1 tsp. garlic powder
Salt and pepper to taste

1. Drain the beans and place in a food processor.
2. Shell and cut avocado and add it to the food processor. Pulse with beans until smooth.
3. Add in lime, hot sauce, garlic powder and salt and pepper and pulse until ingredients are combined. Enjoy!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

