Dairy Free Strawberry Blueberry Banana Smoothie

So this week, I just started an internship at the Pittsburgh Tribune Review. So exciting, right? I’m totally not ready to get up early and get to work…half of me still really wants to luxuriate in summer mornings. Nonetheless, the moment I get to work, I’m happy to be there…it’s just getting there that’s the struggle. The other morning I made a smoothie to perk myself up before work, and hey! It totally got my booty moving. I think there’ s something to spending time on your breakfast that makes you want to eat and enjoy it way more than plain jane cereal.

IMG_2195

This smoothie is full of fruit, which makes getting your seven servings a day way easier. That’s right, I said seven, not five. Apparently scientists have found that seven fruits and vegetables daily is even better than five – like superhero-style better. Like I’ve always said – the more the merrier when it comes to produce!

Instead of using yogurt or milk for protein and fat, I used wheat germ, the vitamin and mineral rich part of the wheat grain. I’m a major fan of adding wheat germ to basically anything I make that isn’t gluten free. It add protein as well as nutrients without really altering the taste. Bob’s Red Mill is my favorite brand to use because it isn’t difficult to find in local grocery stores.

So let’s make this yummy smoothie!

Dairy Free Strawberry Blueberry Banana Smoothie
Peanut, tree nut, sesame, dairy, fish, shellfish, soy and egg free

3/4 cup mixed blueberries and sliced strawberries
1/2 frozen banana
1/4 cup orange juice
2 Tablespoons wheat germ
3-4 ice cubes

1. Blend ingredients together until smooth.
2. Enjoy quickly or refrigerate overnight for a tasty breakfast treat!

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Dairy Free Strawberry Blueberry Banana Smoothie

  1. rebecca says:

    Mmmm! This looks so good! I’m not a breakfast person, but I think I could handle this 🙂 Love the addition of wheat germ! And congratulations on your internship! Sounds like an amazing opportunity! -Rebecca

    Like

Leave a Reply

