Avocado Compote Butter for Salmon

So a few months ago, my family came to visit me in D.C. and we went to a restaurant called Matchbox. If you’ve lived in the area, you’ve probably heard of it because it has a few locations across the city. They have divine pizza (which I tried before this visit) and their banana chocolate chip bread pudding is to die for. My family came  at an opportune time – I had just began eating fish again and was ready to try it at a restaurant. Matchbox did something special with my salmon, though. They topped it with butter. I was amazed. In shock. The tiny eating disorder voice that sometimes still resonates in my head was getting pretty pissed off. But I ignored it, slathered that butter all over my salmon, and damn, was it good.

This was the inspiration for avocado compote butter!

This was the inspiration for avocado compote butter!

Fast forward a few months and my aunt sent me a Food Network recipe for avocado compound butter. She knows of my avocado love and thought I could use recipes for avocado butter, frosting and ice cream, among other things. The problem with this recipe, though, was the cilantro. No one in my family enjoys this powerful herb, so I switched it up and added parsley to the compound instead of cilantro. Y. U. M. I topped my salmon with a pretty big slice of the butter, and as it melted, it dripped perfectly throughout, creating a decadent dinner from simple, fresh ingredients.

IMG_2214

The awesome thing about this butter is that you make a big log of it…enough so that you don’t just have to have it on salmon. This week I’ve been slathering this delicious stuff all over crusty Italian bread for breakfast. The awesome thing is that it truly is better for you than butter – avocado has so many more nutrients than just plain butter, and this compound is also packed with parsley, aka the life herb in my book.

Here is an ugly picture of the butter on my salmon. Gotta have a visual, y'all!

Here is an ugly picture of the butter on my salmon. Gotta have a visual, y’all!

How do we  make this yummy butter? It’s so easy!

Avocado Compound Butter
Peanut, tree nut, egg, soy and sesame free

Ingredients:
1/2 stick butter, room temperature
2 ripe avocados
Handful of parsley
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 Tbs. cumin
Salt and pepper to taste

1. Combine all the ingredients in a food processor. Pulse until smooth.
2. Spread the mixture on wax paper. Form into a log and freeze for at least an hour and a half before serving.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Avocado Compote Butter for Salmon

  1. […] a lot of egg-centric, compote butter-filled recipes. I made vegetarian migas, then I made some avocado compote butter. This recipe combines the two – a savory French toast (encrusted with romano cheese) topped […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

